Which Countries Have Banned Cryptocurrencies? на сайте Nedvio

Недвио: Энциклопедия домовладельца
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

As cryptocurrencies rise in popularity, many nations remain skeptical of their impact and have imposed restrictions or outright bans. Some notable countries that currently ban cryptocurrencies include China, Russia, Vietnam, Algeria, and Nepal. However, bans are not uniform and enforcement varies.


China has instituted one of the most stringent cryptocurrency bans, declaring all crypto-related activities illegal in 2021. Chinese authorities blocked access to exchanges and mining. China also restricts crypto education and advertising.

However, Chinese citizens still find ways around the ban using VPNs to trade on offshore exchanges. China may eventually introduce a digital yuan while keeping other cryptocurrencies illegal.


Russia has gone back and forth on legality but implemented a blanket ban on cryptocurrency use for payments in early 2022. Crypto investment and mining remain legal. But Russian regulators seek to halt cryptocurrency for avoiding sanctions during the Ukraine invasion.


Vietnam’s central bank made it illegal for entities and individuals to own cryptocurrencies in late 2021. All crypto activities like issuance, brokerage, and transactions were banned. Vietnam does not allow use of cryptocurrency as payment.


In late 2017, Algeria instituted a blanket ban on all cryptocurrency purchases, holdings, and sales for institutions and individuals. The ban aims to counter economic crimes and capital flight. Violators risk heavy fines and imprisonment.


Nepal’s central bank ordered a comprehensive ban in 2019 on using, trading, or transacting in any cryptocurrencies like Bitcoin due to security and volatility concerns. The ban makes cryptocurrencies illegal tender within Nepal.

Partial Bans

Many other nations instituted partial limitations on cryptocurrencies. India allows holding crypto but taxes gains punitively. Morocco, Tunisia and Egypt ban only digital currency trading. Countries like Thailand and Indonesia bar financial firms from offering crypto services.

Decriminalization Efforts

El Salvador broke ground in 2021 by adopting Bitcoin as legal tender. Countries like Malta, Portugal, and Singapore take progressive approaches to enable crypto innovation. The European Union regulates crypto fully under Markets in Crypto-Assets rules.


Outright cryptocurrency bans remain limited mostly to authoritarian regimes. But the legality of cryptocurrency remains fluid across the world as governments balance benefits and risks. While leading economies now regulate crypto, skepticism persists in many developing countries. However, practical bans prove difficult to fully enforce. As cryptocurrencies integrate deeper globally, bans may ease in favor of thoughtful regulation.

 Главная    Which Countries Have Banned Cryptocurrencies?